Catchment Management Committees (CMCs)

The National Water Resources Authority (NWRA) will be established and take over the functions of water resource management from the National Department of Water. The NWRA will have local representation in three Catchment Management Boards, proposed to be the Shire, Linthipe and Rukuru Catchment Management Boards for the southern, central and northern catchments of Malawi respectively.

The National Water Resources Act (2013) (“the Act”) makes provision for the establishment of Catchment Management Committees (CMCs) for individual or groups of catchments on a local scale to involve all stakeholders and to assist the NWRA in local water resource management. The powers, functions and operations of CMCs are described in the Act and are interpreted as follows.